Monday, March 4, 2024
HomeTRAVELHow Many National Parks Are There In The Uk?

How Many National Parks Are There In The Uk?

There are currently 15 National Parks in the UK (as of June 2017). The first, the Peak District, was created in 1951 and the most recent, Northumberland National Park, was established in 2015. There are plans to create more National Parks to cover some of the remaining regions of outstanding natural beauty that have not yet been protected.

This includes Dartmoor, Exmoor, and Snowdonia as well as some other areas of outstanding natural beauty around the coast of England and Wales. Find out more about all fifteen national parks below!

1-The Benefits Of Having National Parks In Your Country

National Parks bring economic development to an area, improve air quality and contribute to a healthy ecosystem. Here is a list of five reasons why National Parks should be in your country.

  • National Parks bring economic development to an area. One example of this is Yosemite National Park which attracts over 3 million visitors every year and brings $250 million dollars into the local economy. 2. Air quality improves when we have more trees around us because they produce oxygen and remove carbon dioxide from our atmosphere.
  • By having national parks, you ensure that people can enjoy nature without having to travel too far from home, which helps reduce air pollution since people won’t have to drive as much.

2-The History Of National Parks

The National Parks of England and Wales were established by acts of Parliament between 1949 and 1957. There are currently twelve national parks: ten in England, and two in Wales. Some people think they should be called country parks, but they are national parks because they have been set up by an Act of Parliament.

The first was Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, followed by Snowdonia National Park, Cairngorms National Park, Dartmoor National Park, and Exmoor National Park. In 1956 four more were added to make a total of eight: the Peak District, North York Moors, South Downs, and Dartmoor. The last two were added in 1959 to make a total of ten: Yorkshire Dales and Lake District

3-What Is A National Park?

National Parks are protected areas. They offer a sanctuary for natural life as well as a refuge for wildlife and provide visitors with opportunities to enjoy outdoor activities such as walking, cycling, or horse riding.

In England and Wales national parks exist mostly in mountainous regions and makeup just over 6% of the land area. National Parks include Dartmoor National Park, Exmoor National Park, Northumberland National Park, and Snowdonia National Park. Scotland has 8 National Parks while Northern Ireland has 2 including one shared with Scotland!

4-Which Countries Have National Parks?

National Parks are areas that have been set aside and protected to ensure they’re preserved and untouched by humans. These places provide us with a natural habitat for animals, plants, and wildlife to live without disturbance.

The United Kingdom’s national parks span 7% of the country’s landmass and include some of its most iconic landscapes: The Lake District National Park, Northumberland National Park, Snowdonia National Park, The Brecon Beacons National Park (in Wales), Yorkshire Dales National Park.

5-How Many National Parks Are There In The Uk?

There are more than 20 national parks in the United Kingdom. This includes Lake District National Park, Northumberland National Park, and Yorkshire Dales National Park.

The Lake District National Park is one of the most popular destinations for tourists visiting the country. The park contains a number of lakes, including Windermere, Ullswater, and Derwentwater.

Yorkshire Dales National Park is home to some of the most spectacular natural landscapes in England. It also offers more than 100 miles of footpaths for visitors to enjoy nature at its very best.


6-Do They Need Protection And What Does That Mean For Us?

National parks are our country’s most sacred and awe-inspiring natural places. These special places need protection from animals, people, and climate change – but how do they get it? A national park is considered to be a piece of land that has been set aside for nature conservation purposes. In order to be given this status, a piece of land must meet certain criteria.

Parks can be designated as national if they meet three or more criteria, or if only one criterion is met but is deemed to have international importance by a committee of experts. The National Parks Authorities Act provides us with information about which parts of the country are home to national parks so we can protect them!

7-If You Want To Visit One Of Our National Parks, This Is What You Need To Know…

If you’re planning a visit to one of our national parks, it’s important to know what you can and can’t do. Below is an overview of a few things that may be worth considering when visiting one of our national parks:

8-National Park Rules Vary From Place To Place So It’s Best To Check Them Before You Go.

The National Parks Regulations allow pets at most sites, but they have to be on a lead at all times.

You will not be allowed into any part of the national park with a dog unless it’s held on a lead or under close control.

If your dog is not registered, you must keep it on a lead at all times and take extra care not to disturb wildlife by making noise or disturbing vegetation.


There are fourteen national parks in the United Kingdom. These include:

The Broads National Park

  • Dartmoor National Park
  • Exmoor National Park
  • New Forest National Park
  • Northumberland National Park
  • North York Moors National Park
  • Peak District National Park
  • Snowdonia National Park
Welcome to Unite URLs. We find, rate, and review the best businesses & agencies across the UK. Whatever your industry we have you covered from accountancy firms to catering companies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular